NewsReport Online

New Projects
The following projects have been undertaken by units of the National Research Council, National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, and Institute of Medicine. The latest information about current committee activities including project descriptions, committee rosters, and meeting information is now available in Current Projects.

Building a Long-Term Environmental Quality R&D Program in the U.S. Department of Energy.
Board on Radioactive Waste Management, Commission on Geosciences, Environment, and Resources. Project director: Gregory Symmes. Chair: to be selected. Sponsor: U.S. Department of Energy.

Foundations of Educational and Psychological Assessment.
Board on Testing and Assessment, Commission on Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education. Project director: Naomi Chudowsky. Co-chairs: James Pellegrino, professor, Peabody College of Education and Human Development, Vanderbilt University, Nashville; and Robert Glaser, professor, Learning Research and Development Center, University of Pittsburgh. Sponsor: National Science Foundation. (See article on this new project.)

Materials Research for "Defense-After-Next."
National Materials Advisory Board, Commission on Engineering and Technical Systems. Project director: Arul Mozhi. Chair: Harvey W. Schadler, retired technical director, GE Corporate Research and Development Center. Sponsor: U.S. Department of Defense. (See article on this new project.)

Restoration of the Greater Everglades Ecosystem.
Water Science and Technology Board and Board on Environmental Studies and Toxicology, Commission on Geosciences, Environment, and Resources. Project director: Stephen D. Parker. Chair: James Davidson, retired vice president of agriculture and natural resources, University of Florida, Gainesville. Sponsor: U.S. Department of the Interior. (See article on this new project.)

Science, Technology, and Law.
Policy Division. Program director: Anne-Marie Mazza. Co-chairs: Donald Kennedy, Bing Professor of Environmental Science, Stanford University, Stanford, Calif.; and Richard Merrill, the Daniel Caplin Professor of Law, University of Virginia School of Law, Charlottesville. (See article on this new project.)

Technologies for the Early Detection of Breast Cancer.
National Cancer Policy Board, Institute of Medicine and National Research Council. Project director: Sharyl Nass. Chair: Joyce C. Lashof, professor emerita, School of Public Health, University of California, Berkeley. Sponsors: Breast Cancer Research Foundation, Carl J. Herzog Foundation, Mr. John K. Castle, Jewish Healthcare Foundation, Josiah Macy Jr. Foundation, Kansas Health Foundation, and the New York Community Trust. (See article on this new project.)

New Publications
Many of the institution's reports can be found online and ordered from the National Academy Press.

Copyright National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.